Let’s Walk

Sorry it’s been a few days since I’ve posted anything.  I recently moved back to college and I’ve been busy with classes and homework.  But I finally found a free moment to write on my blog, so here I am!

As you can imagine, it’s difficult to consistently work on your book during college.  Classes and homework take priority, and sometimes your book just gets pushed aside to the back burner.  Well, I have designated specific times in my day just for writing.  I will admit that sometimes I don’t have any ideas during that time, but at least i’m writing something.  Sometimes I will actually be writing my book; sometimes I’ll be writing in a journal; and sometimes I’ll be writing a short story.  The overall goal, however, is that I write.  But one of the best times for me to write is when I exercise!

My college has a very nice fitness center, and there happens to be a treadmill with a table-top attached to it.  I was super excited when I found this out because this gives me something to do while I exercise.  Granted, sometimes people give me funny looks when I bring my laptop into the fitness center, but I’m taking advantage of my resources.  The other day, I wrote 10 pages while exercising, which is something.  My brain/imagination also works best when I’m doing something, so walking on the treadmill while writing my book is the best!  I also write when I exercise because it’s one of the only times I have that I don’t have to worry about classes or homework.  It’s just me, my laptop, and the treadmill.

Maybe you should start exercising and writing.  That way, you’re hitting two birds with one stone.  It’s worked pretty well for me; maybe it’ll work for you.  And if you don’t write and walk, that’s okay, too!  Just keep writing!

Leave a Reply

