Wibbley Wobbly Typey Writey

Yesterday my immediate family celebrated Christmas, and we spent all day over at my grandma’s house.  I didn’t bring my laptop with me, which meant I didn’t write all day.  I didn’t post anything on my blog; I didn’t type anything in my book.  To be honest, I was having a slight withdrawal from not writing.  As soon as we got home, though, my brother put in a movie; I decided to watch it with him because I don’t see him very often.  I ended up climbing into my bed around 9:30pm, but stayed up until 11:00pm writing.  I realize that 11:00pm is not late for some people, but it’s late for me.  I woke up to my alarm this morning wishing I could sleep in.  But I guess that’s the sacrifice a writer makes.  Because I got up this morning and am writing again.

Last night I managed to write ten to twelve pages and am now at 30,000 words (105 pages).  The longest book I’ve ever written was 384 pages, and I’m hoping to surpass that.  I want to reach at least 400 pages, but we’ll see what happens.  I’ve learned, though, during my years of writing, that you can’t stretch a story to the length you want it.  Even if I desperately want Hurdles… to reach 400 pages, the story will end when the story ends, even if that’s 268 pages.  I can’t force my characters to keep going, and I can’t force them to abruptly stop.  A good writing knows when to keep writing and when to write “the end.”  And I hope that I can be that good of a writer some day.  Hurdles… has become my baby and I want it to be as perfect as it can be, even if it ends at 268 pages.

5 thoughts on “Wibbley Wobbly Typey Writey

Leave a Reply

