Inspirational Things

I’m in my room that has tan walls which look like a light pink color when the sun hits them just right.  I’m sitting in a blue lazy chair that’s falling apart and has absolutely no cushion left.  I look across from me and see a stack of books that are for my next semester of college.  Then there’s my giant bulletin board that is covered with quotes from books, movies, TV shows, and other random places.  I have so many quotes that give me a little bit of inspiration for each part of my life.  And as I look at them, I search for the ones that have to do with writing.  Here are a few of my favorites:

“I write to save someone’s life, probably my own” – Clarice Lispector

“Being a good writer is 3% talent, 97% not being distracted by the internet” – ?

“Write it, damn you, write it!  What else are you good for?” – James Joyce

“Write until it becomes as natural as breathing.  Write until not writing makes you anxious” – ?

“Write like you’re running out of time” – Musical Hamilton

“Writing is rewriting.  Even after you’ve gotten an agent and an editor, you’ll have to rewrite.  If you fall in love with the vision you want of your work and not the words, the rewriting will become easier” – Nora DeLoach

Hopefully these will inspire you as much as they inspire me 🙂

Leave a Reply

