It’s Your Book

Throughout the years I’ve learned that you need to write for yourself.  Your book is your book and no one else’s.  Write whatever the hell you want and the right people will read it and love it.  You can’t please everybody, so why try?  If you write what you want to write, you will be happy no matter what.  If you constantly write what people tell you to write, you will grow to hate your own work.  You will scrunch your nose whenever you read it.  You will ask yourself “why did I write that?”  Instead, you want to say to yourself “I wrote that!”

As I said in an earlier post, I have a habit of killing off characters.  At first I was really nervous to kill a character because I didn’t know how my readers would react.  I thought they would hate me forever and never read my books again.  But I learned that if there’s a reason to my madness, the right people will fall in love with my books.  Once I got over my fear of making my readers mad, I was able to write whatever I wanted.  I could write as many deaths as I wanted and not have to worry about it.  I could write however many romances I wanted and not be judged for it.  I could write my villains as evil as I wanted and not be hated for it.  Once I learned to write for myself, I could write whatever I wanted.

Don’t be afraid to write your story, however crazy it is.  It’s your story and nobody can tell you how to write it.  The right people will buy it, read it, and love it.  Your story will become someone’s favorite book.  And you may become someone’s favorite author.  Don’t worry about pleasing everyone because that is impossible.  Just worry about pleasing yourself, and then just let it go.

If you write it, they will come.

One thought on “It’s Your Book

  1. The Shameful Narcissist says:

    If you ever fear killing characters, just remember GRRM is arguably the most popular author in the world, and he swings the hatchet like a madman.

    I couldn’t agree more with your sentiment. Writing what you think people want will sound unauthentic, and it will show in your work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

