Watching, Not Writing

watching-stories

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve done this exact thing.  While I’m riding in the car, or in the shower, or working, I’m always thinking about my story.  I’m always imagining different things that could happen.  Will they fall in love?  And if they do, what will happen?  Will someone die?  How will people react?  I am constantly replaying my story over and over in my head with different scenarios.  But when I actually sit down to write it, absolutely nothing comes to mind.  I can’t think of one single thing to write.  I know exactly how I want the story to go, but I have no idea how to put it onto paper.  And whatever I do write down usually sounds terrible.

So…how do you get past this?  I’ve learned that I just need to start writing about whatever comes to mind.  The first idea that I envision in my mind I just need to transfer onto paper.  And I need to stop reading it over; I just need to write it.  Write it all down and then go back to read it.  So, to all of you writers out there, just start writing and don’t stop.  No matter how bad you think it sounds, you just need to get it down.  And then go back to read it.  You’ll probably find that it sounds better than you think.

Here’s a writing prompt to help:

Her chances were slim, but she couldn’t let that stop her.  It was escape or death, and she wasn’t ready to die.

3 thoughts on “Watching, Not Writing

  1. The Shameful Narcissist says:

    You and I are very kindred when it comes to this! I’m always thinking about my characters, and if I don’t spend enough time writing about them or editing, they’ll start having conversations in my head and/or I’ll see scenes play out. I used to carry a notebook with me to write such things down; now I use OneNote to keep track of these situations. I never want to miss out on good dialogue or scene building.

    Reading things like this makes me feel far less alone in my supposed “madness.” I once tried to explain this to a non-writer, and I received “the look.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

