A Long Road Ahead…

I am currently writing a road trip scene in my new book and constantly found myself repeating the same details over and over again.  I found it difficult making the road trip entertaining because it’s two characters stuck in a car for several hours.  My first idea was to have them argue (they’re sisters) but then I realized they couldn’t argue the whole time.  Sooner or later they would get tired of yelling at each other, so what else could happen?  Music.  Music is always a big part of road trips, so I started writing about that.  But eventually that got boring as well.  So…how do you make a long road trip entertaining?  Instead of writing down random things, I googled it.  And this is what I found that helped me:

  1. Make sure you pick a specific setting.
    1. The road is a character just like the people.  How does it curve around the hills?  Is it flat and never ending?  Bumpy?
  2. Create Interesting Characters.
    1. My two characters are sisters, and they are opposites, so I could compare and contrast them.  Make sure they have interesting things to talk about.  They can’t just argue the whole time.
  3. Create Drama between the characters.
    1. Write about an incident in the car that creates tension, or laughter, or something besides “normal” feelings.  For example, I wrote about one of my characters spilling coffee on herself and she had to borrow her sister’s clothes.  That could be very interesting and funny to the reader.
  4. Have the characters bond along the way.
    1. They can’t have the same feeling for each other from start to finish.  Whether they hate each other by the end, or love each other by the end, their feelings have changed.  So show it.
  5. Personal Experiences.
    1. Take ideas from your own life that could help make the story interesting.  We all have a past, so use it to your advantage.

I know this helped me, so hopefully it will help you!  Keep writing! 🙂

5 thoughts on “A Long Road Ahead…

  1. The Shameful Narcissist says:

    I’ve written two “road” novels or at least two novels where characters were traveling/had a destination in mind. Granted these stories didn’t involve cars, but I definitely switched up the landscape and had the characters run into different situations and people. My stories were a bit different from yours as I used the “enemies to lovers” motif so there was that progression. You’ve got siblings and they can certainly fight like enemies all the while loving each other 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • katiemdean says:

      I initially thought about creating two characters that went from enemies to lovers, but then I figured that that was kind of predictable. I really liked the idea of sisters; I have an older brother so I was able to take some of my experiences with him because he and I used to fight all of the time. But in the story I also had moments where they were peaceful with each other. I think it’s important to have a little bit of every emotion.
      Thanks for the comment🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Shameful Narcissist says:

        Enemies to lovers is a VERY common trope. I think I like it because of the fanfictions I read/write. In my original stories it’s less enemies and more two characters with opposing ideologies who are forced together by circumstance. It makes more an interesting dynamic!

        Nail on the head with siblings. I have an older and younger brother.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Kate Johnston says:

    Great tips here for making a road trip interesting in a book! Depending on your story, sometimes you can just bypass the trip altogether and simply start your next chapter at the characters’ destination, where the real action begins–because you want to be super-careful with having your characters doing the same thing for too long.

    But if your story requires the trip because certain bits of information are revealed during this time, consider bringing in some problems that could foreshadow the eventual crisis/es. A flat tire, car overheating, stopping at a remote gas station and meeting a hitchhiker looking for a ride, bad weather, getting lost and having to ask for help from a shady yocal-local.

    Sounds like you’re having fun with your story–so important!–keep at it!!

    Like

    • katiemdean says:

      These are wonderful ideas! I actually just completed the road trip part of the story a few days ago because it was time to move on to more important parts. And I did add in a couple events that made it interesting. The two sisters had to pull into a sketchy gas station and sleep in their car, and one of them spilled coffee on their pants and had to borrow their sister’s clothes. I didn’t want to skip the road trip because I thought it was important to show the sisters relationship in detail.
      I am having a lot of fun! Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

