Lamentations in the Election

I know this blog is designated to writing, but given the presidential election, I can’t help but write something about that.  I want to start off by saying that everyone is entitled to their own opinions and feelings, and I respect that.  I want to congratulate those whose candidate won, because it can be an exciting time.  But please don’t gloat; be respectful to those who are facing a tough time right now.  And to those who lost, I want to say don’t lose hope.  I have heard several people respond with “the sun will rise tomorrow and the earth will still turn.”  And even though that may be true, I understand that the given circumstance can be scary, especially for those in a minority.  But the only way we can get through this is if we stand together.  I am here for you, along with so many other people.  Whoever you are – refugee, Muslim, feminist, person of color, LGBTQ – there are people who will fight for your rights, including myself.  You are not alone.  Have hope that the sun will rise tomorrow and that the earth will still turn.  For me personally, I’ve turned to Lamentations 3:16-24.  “The thought of my affliction and my homelessness is wormwood and gall!  My soul continually thinks of it and is bowed down within me.  But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.  ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in him.’”  May this verse give you strength and courage during this time.

Leave a Reply

