Why Writers Write

I write because it’s my outlet.

I write because it’s my escape.

I write because it’s my way of being free.

I write because I can create my own world.

I write because I can create my own characters.

I write because I can be in control.

I write because creating something that didn’t exist before is as close to magic as I’ll ever get.

Writing is magical.  Creating a new world, new characters, new creatures, is magic.  As writers, we are able to create new universes from scratch and call it ours.  We are in control of every word, action, detail.  Every sentence only exists because of our imaginations.  The book only exists because of a magician who took time to write it.  Just remember; your book is your creation.  No one else can tell you what to write or how to write it.  Yes, people may give you suggestions, but you are the one in control.  And whatever you decide to create is magic.  Don’t let anyone tell you it’s worthless or not good enough.  They aren’t the ones writing it down.  They are the ones trying to destroy your new world.  But remember, there is someone in this world who needs to read your book.  There is someone in this world who will be your biggest fan.  There is someone in this world who will call your book their favorite.  There are people in this world who will love the magic that you created.  And that’s why we writers write.  We write for those people who need an escape, who need an outlet, who need freedom.  We create their magic.

3 thoughts on “Why Writers Write

  1. genevafry says:

    “…There is someone in this world who needs to read your book.” I love that you pointed this out. There are some books that have changed my life–where would I have been without them? Not everyone will “get” what you write, but to some people, what you write will be gold.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

