Eugene Ionesco

“A writer never has a vacation.  For a writer life consists of either writing, or thinking about writing.”  This is so true!  I’ve been writing for about seven years now, and I have never had a day off.  I’m either in front of my computer typing out an idea that just popped into my head, or I’m thinking about new ideas to write about.  When I mow, I think about what could happen next in my book.  When I’m in the shower, I talk to my characters and ask them what they want their story to be about.  I’m thinking about problems, situations, lovers, deaths, and not-so-happy endings that could possibly happen.  My mind is always busy with sorting through ideas that would either work or not work or I could use later.  And this is when you know you’re a writer.  If you are constantly thinking about new ideas/situations that you could writer about, then you’re a real writer.  It has become such an important part of your life that it’s in your mind all the time.  And that’s okay.  That’s how it’s supposed to be if you love to write and create.  Your imagination goes with you everywhere you go so that you are never alone.  And if you are able to pack up your huge imagination and travel across the country, or curl up on the couch, then you will have no problem creating a story worth telling.

Leave a Reply

