Advice from a Writer

If you want to write about something, but don’t know where to start, start by writing.  Open up a journal or notebook and just start writing.  Don’t stop, even if you don’t know what to write about.  Keep writing about whatever comes to mind.  Write something down everyday; it could be an entry in a diary, a letter to God, a shopping list.  It doesn’t matter.  If you want to get used to writing, write everyday.  It doesn’t matter if it’s good or if it makes sense; the point is is that it’s something.  And that’s how you start.  You start by writing something down on a piece of paper or a computer and then just go from there.  It took me forever to get used to writing everyday.  Whenever I had a good idea for my book, I would quickly added it to my story, but on the days where I had writers block, I wouldn’t write at all.  Only recently have I gotten in the habit of writing something everyday.  I keep a journal and I just write about my day, and that actually helps with my books.  Even though it doesn’t add to my books, it gets me used to writing and creating new ideas.  I know it sounds like a lot of work, but after you do it for a while, it becomes second nature.  And that’s what you want as a writer.  You want writing to be a part of your day to day life, and the only way to make that happen is if you sit down and put pen to paper.

“Write until is becomes as natural as breathing.  Write until not writing makes you anxious.” – Christina Katz

By the way, I’m sorry I haven’t posted anymore quotes from my books.  I’m still working on getting more added to them.  But, besides the sneak peaks, is there anything you want me to talk about?  Any advice you want me to give, or questions you want me to answer?  Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Advice from a Writer

Leave a Reply

